Campo de Cariñena

Campo de Cariñena

History and Culture

Campo de Cariñena is one of the most traditional winegrowing zones of our country and currently continues reinventing itself. Its idiosyncresy endures, the way of interpreting wine culture and tradition change and evolve, and therefore the way of defining and presenting its wines is different.

The Campo de Cariñena Wine Route opens the doors for us to a genuine journey among its vineyards, with interesting wine-related proposals and experiences.

The Campo de Cariñena Wine Rout is comprised of these 12 municipalites: Aguarón, Aladrén, Alfamén, Cariñena, Cosuenda, Encinacorba, Longares, Mezalocha, Muel, Paniza, Tosos, Villanueva de Huerva.


come visit us
Photo gallery
Atrás Adelante

Wine and art

knows our route

The Wine

Cariñena is a Wine Name


The Region Campo de Cariñena is situated in the province of Zaragoza, between the rivers Jalón and Huerva, in the middle area of the Ebro Valley. Here, vines find an appropriate adaptation both to the different microclimates produced by altitudes, which vary from 400 to 800 metres, and the lands lacking fertility, but with excellent conditions of permeability.

With 14,440 hectares of vineyards, it is the oldest, vastest and most famous wine area in Aragon, and one of the historic areas in Spain. Already in the Vine Statute of the Village of Cariñena in 1696 people looked out for the wine quality and the obligatory permission of the Juries to plant vineyards. We find in it the precedent of the current  Certificate of Origin (Denominación de Origen), recognised in the Wine Statute of 1932.


There exists a large varietal diversity, standing out the wine Mazuela, which had such a weight in the area that adopted the name of the capital of the Certificate of Origin (Denominación de Origen, DOP): Cariñena.  It resists the winters in which the cierzo (a typical wind of this area) blows, and torrid summers. Today it is the historic red garnacha variety that abounds in the area.